National Heroes

The 12 Greatest NPC National Champions of All Time


Darren Burns


IFBB contest wins: 20

Number of Mr. Olympia apperances: 12

Highest Mr. Olympia placing: 2nd

The 1991 Nationals may have been the greatest amateur contest of all time, featuring Flex Wheeler, Ronnie Coleman, Chris Cormier, Paul DeMayo, Ronnie Coleman, and Edgar Fletcher. And yet the Maryland Muscle Machine triumphed over them all, and in his 1992 rookie year, he won his pro debut at the Night Of Champions, won the German Grand Prix, and placed runner-up in his first Mr. Olympia. Levrone, with some of the best delts, traps, and triceps ever seen in the sport, finished his career with 20 wins, including two Arnold Classics. His four second-place Mr. Olympia finishes are trumped only by Jay Cutler’s six. Levrone last competed in 2003, placing fifth at the Arnold Classic, sixth at the Mr. Olympia, and third at the GNC Show of Strength.

For access to exclusive fitness advice, interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!