Bodybuilding readies for the first pro show of the year

February 18, 2010


WHAT: 2010 IFBB Phoenix Pro Bodybuilding, 202, Figure & Fitness Show
WHERE: Mesa Arts Center, Mesa, Arizona
WHEN: Saturday, February 20
FINALS: 6:30 p.m. MST

The 2010 bodybuilding season is set to kickoff this Saturday, February 20, in Mesa, Arizona when the IFBB’s finest athletes dominate the stage for the inaugural Phoenix Pro Bodybuilding, 202, Figure & Fitness Show.

After winning the final contest of last year’s professional season, the Sacramento Pro, Toney Freeman looks to continue his winning ways in AZ, but it won’t come easy. Melvin Anthony Jr., who had an off year in ’09 after placing fourth at the Atlantic City Pro and out of the top ten at the Mr. Olympia, is out for redemption. Troy Alves and Hidetada Yamagishi each have a buzz surrounding them heading into the show as well. In fact, photos on the FLEX Forums show Yamagishi in great form as he gets ready to make a statement in Phoenix. Alves, on the other hand, has remained cagey (he’s not releasing any pre-contest shots) but word on the street is that he’s set to rumble in his hometown. Stan Efferding, the ’09 NPC Masters Nationals super-heavyweight and overall winner and newest AMI/Weider athlete, is slated to make his debut on the IFBB stage.

The men’s open show will also feature the return of Big Quincy Taylor, who was MIA from competition last year, as well as Frank “Texas Tornado” Roberson and the ’92 Nationals light heavyweight and overall titlist John Sherman, who were both last seen onstage in ’07.

Add names like Johnnie Jackson, Eddie Abbew and Tarek Elsetouhi to the mix and you have the makings of a highly competitive and very interesting showdown in the desert.

Although the 202 division is small — just seven competitors — the lineup is solid, with the ever-popular Roc Shabazz looking to finally take top honors as an IFBB pro. This division also features a notable comeback — that of 1985 USA and World Championships middleweight winner Sean Jenkins.

The figure division could see some of last year’s pro card winners continue their march of success when ’09 Nationals overall figure winner Mindi Smith takes the stage. Kathleen Tesori, who also earned her pro card at the Nationals, will be in contention as well. Felicia Romero — who placed 9th at the Figure O and took overall honors at the ’09 Border States Pro Figure — will look to play the role of spoiler.

In fitness, Tanji Johnson and Julie Palmer — who took 2nd and 4th respectively at the ’09 Fitness O — should be battling it out for top honors, although the elegant Oksana Grishina and hard-driving Nita Marquez may have something to say about that.

In women’s bodybuilding, you can’t count out Yaxeni Oriquen-Garcia. Oriquen-Garcia has won the Ms. O title (’05) and multiple Ms International titles (’02, ’08) — a to try and reestablish herself as the premier female bodybuilder. But keep tabs on Betty Pariso, last year’s Tampa Pro winner, as well. Colette Nelson, Gayle Moher, Dena Westerfield and Jeannie Paparone will also be in the mix.

Then there’s rookie Zoa Linsey, the ’09 IFBB North American overall and heavyweight winner. She’s been looking huge and vascular in precontest photos while fellow newbie Akila Pervis (the middleweight winner at the ’09 USA’s) will be holding up the aesthetic end of the spectrum with her lighter frame and pleasing lines. In the end, the women’s bodybuilding lineup should produce some interesting callouts. Be sure to check back right here, on for breaking news, galleries and reports from Phoenix, Arizona!


  1. Edward Abbew
  2. Oliver Adzievski
  3. Melvin Anthony Jr.
  4. Grigori Atoyan
  5. Moe Bannout
  6. Lionel Beyeke
  7. Gus Carter
  8. Adorthus Cherry
  9. Omar Deckard
  10. Alfonso Del Rio
  11. Constantinos Demetriou
  12. Stan Efferding
  13. Tarek Elsetouhi
  14. Toney Freeman
  15. DeShaun Grimez de Garcia
  16. Andy Haman
  17. Daniel Hill
  18. Johnnie Jackson
  19. Randy Jackson Sr.
  20. Rusty Jeffers
  21. Michael Liberatore
  22. Cesar Mendible
  23. Franklin Roberson
  24. Heinz Senior
  25. John Sherman
  26. Quincy Taylor
  27. Hidetada Yamagishi
  28. Mehmet Yildirim


  1. Ahmad Ahmad
  2. Eric Castagmet
  3. Sean Jenkins
  4. Rod Ketchens
  5. Bola Ojex
  6. Javier Jose Reynoso
  7. Roc Shabazz


  1. Myriam Bustamante
  2. Zoa Linsey
  3. Gayle Moher
  4. Colette Nelson
  5. Yaxeni Oriquen-Garcia
  6. Jeannie Paparone
  7. Betty Pariso
  8. Akila Pervis
  9. Maria del Carmen Segura
  10. Diana Stanback
  11. Antoinette Thompson
  12. Dena Westerfield


  1. Stefanie Bambrough
  2. Oksana Grishina
  3. Tanji Johnson
  4. Nita Marquez
  5. Bridgette Murray-Ward
  6. Julie Palmer
  7. Yenny Polanco
  8. Camala Rodriguez


  1. Listy Allen
  2. Crystal Chiles
  3. Lynn Cimmino
  4. Monica Mark-Escalante
  5. Linda Fodor
  6. Sabrina Taylor Gibson
  7. Lydia Haskell
  8. Jennifer Hernandez
  9. Jaime Meade
  10. Jodie Minear
  11. Karen Mullarkey
  12. Amy O’Neil
  13. Debbie Patton
  14. Felicia Romero
  15. Rosa Maria-Romero
  16. Mendi Sakamoto
  17. Mindi Smith
  18. Chaundra Tanji
  19. Angela Terlesky
  20. Kathleen Tesori
  21. Ann Titone
  22. Taylor Waldrop
  23. Tina White