New York Pro Bodybuilding Championships set for May 10

by George DePirro

April 29, 2008


Lower Manhattan will be abuzz with excitement on May 10, when the fourth annual IFBB New York Pro Bodybuilding Championships return to the Tribeca Performing Arts Center. However, the 2008 version will have somewhat of a different flavor than last year?s event as both a 202-pound class and a women?s bodybuilding contest have been added to the mix. In addition, a strength show open to the female bodybuilders in the contest is on the list of scheduled activities. A pro competition in New York always brings out the East Coast?s hardest core, and with five Olympia qualifications handed out at the men?s contest, there will be plenty of top-flight physiques jockeying for position in the main event.

The 202-pound event, the Vyotech Nutritionals Shawn Ray IFBB Men?s 202 and Under Professional Bodybuilding Championships, gives the smaller guys a c hance to shine and qualify for the Olympia 202 Showdown on Olympia Weekend. ?It?s going to help the little guys not worry about throwing their bodies out of proportion trying to hang with the big guys,? New York Pro promoter Steve Weinberger says. ?The lightweight, middleweight and even the light-heavyweight guys who win the Nationals can stay at their weights and improve instead of blowing up.?

WHAT: 2008 New York Pro Bodybuilding Championships
WHO: Men?s Bodybuilding, Under 202-pound Men?s Bodybuilding, Women?s Bodybuilding
WHEN: May 10
WHERE: Tribeca Performing Arts Center
FOR TICKETS: Call (516) 933-1111

Lineups as of 4/29
Arntz, Jason (202)
Brown, Elvis
Canyon, Jimmy
Catapano, Gianluca
Chamberlain, Brian
Del Rio, Alfonso
Dixon, Charles (202)
Ducasse, Guy (202)
Elsetouhi, Tarek
Emelyanov, Oleg
English, Kevin
Feliz, Abiu
Henry II, David (202)
Huff, Roland (202)
Icli, Neset
Ingram, Leo
Jackson, Tricky (202)
Jones, Ken
Joseph, Louis
Karaduzovic, Emro (202)
Kjellstrom, Martin
Long, Don
Lytle, Daron (202)
Mishin, Evgeny
Ogorodnikov, Sergey
Ojex, Bola (202)
Rockel, Ronny
Shabazz, Roc (202)
Stubbs, Joel
Thorne, Henderson
Vejic, Zoran
White, Ben
Wonsley, Nathan (202)
Kai Greene

Antoine, Fabi
Bazemore, Mercedes
Bramwell, Debbie
Bridges, Sarah
Buck, Kim
Calo, Maria
Caputo, Giusy
Chandler, Tina
Debatin, Angela
Foster, Heather
Grozajova, Aurelia
Jennings, Rosemary
Laszewski, Debi
LeFrancois, Cathy
Meza Gomez, Elizabeth
Nelson, Colette
Paparone, Jeannie
Rivieccio, Annie
Salemink, Saskia
Thompson, Antoinette
Westerfield, Dena