Weight: 117 lbs.
Age: 24
Residence: Fort Collins, CO
Twitter: @fittkitty
Measurements: 35-24-35
Website: allmaxnutrition.com

Muscle & Fitness: When did you decide you wanted to compete in the NPC?

Katie Elkins: When I was a kid, I went to a performance training center for sports. Trainers I worked with there were really into fitness. I’ve been lifting for sports since I was 12 years old. There were actually some NFL players in my training center. Many of the people I trained with were into competitions—at that point, it was pretty much just fitness and figure—and I really wanted to get into the fitness division. So my interest in that stuff developed really early.

What sports did you play?

My mom had me in wrestling, she had me in ballet, basketball, everything. I’ve been in sports since I was 5.

How often do you work out?

Well, it’s changed since I got a full-time job [at Verizon, as a sales rep], that’s for sure. When I’m training for a show, it’s every single day—four days of lifting, and cardio every single day. When I’m not training for a show, it can vary from three to six days, depending on how busy I am with work and the stuff I’m doing outside of work.


What’s your diet like?

Honestly, it’s pretty standard when I’m competing. Lots of egg whites, lean protein, green vegetables…the usual. I’ve been with three different coaches, and they’ve all been pretty much the same as far as food groups go.

What competitions are you looking forward to in the future?

Well, life has kind of thrown a full-time time job at me since I graduated last December—I went to Auburn University for three years, and then got my degree from Florida State. But I’ve entertained the idea of doing Nationals this November, so that might be my goal as far as that goes. And I may jump in a local show to get onstage more.

What did you study at school?

I have a business marketing degree from Florida State, and an international minor from Auburn. What’s your favorite body part to train? Probably a tie between shoulders and glutes. For shoulders, I do very traditional exercises—a lot of dumbbells, shoulder raises, trap raises, and lateral raises.

Do you ever get hit on at the gym?

I have a couple of times, yes. Really, when I’m on the StairMaster, a lot of times it’s comments on my butt. I’m basically being told: “Whatever you’re doing, it’s working.” I think that was the funniest one recently. But I’m taken, and my boyfriend and I go to the same gym.

Do you work out with your boyfriend?

It depends on his mood. He’s a competitor, too, but to be honest, he really likes lifting on his own.

What exactly do you look for in a guy?

The same work ethic that I have. As a competitor, you don’t want someone who’s lazy, who’s not driven, so I definitely like someone with drive, someone who’s passionate about something no matter what it is. Confidence is a big one, too.

What do you consider a man’s sexiest body part?

Pretty much the whole package. Though maybe their arms. I was going to say chest, but…It’s a lot of things!