On September 19, 1965, a standing-room-only crowd of 2,500 rabid fans in the Brooklyn Academy of Music screamed as Larry Scott was (literally) crowned the first Mr. Olympia. Only 14 men have won the coveted Sandow to date, and in their honor, we’ve assembled advice from the victor of each contest—from Scott’s initial two to Shawn Rhoden‘s 2018 victory over seven-time Mr. O Phil Heath.

Each tip is short and sweet, but this invaluable guidance from bodybuilding’s legends demonstrates that some things have changed while others have stayed the same over the Mr. Olympia’s first 55 years.